Transplant Patients Could Live Free of Anti-Rejection Drugs

Scientists from the Lucile Packard Childrens Hospital and the Stanford University School of Medicine have identified a pattern of gene expression shared by a small group of patients who beat the odds and remained healthy for years without medication, after undergoing Organ transplant.

The findings made by Minnie Sarwal, MD, PhD, a pediatric nephrologist at Packard Children’s is a major advantage in organ transplantation treatment. Transplant recipients who share the same pattern of genes but are still on conventional medication may be able to reduce or eliminate their lifelong dependence on immunosuppressive drugs. The study may also help physicians determine how best to induce acceptance, or tolerance, of donor organs in all transplant patients, regardless of their gene expression profiles.

Although the anti-rejection medications, known as immunosuppressants, tamp down the immune system enough to permit lifesaving organ transplants, their benefits come at a price. They also quash the bodys natural response to dangerous invaders, such as bacteria and viruses, and to rogue cancer cells. Transplant physicians prescribing immunosuppressants to their patients walk a fine line between avoiding organ rejection and increasing the risk of infection and cancer

The researchers used microarray, or gene chip, technology to compare gene expression patterns in blood samples from 16 healthy volunteers with those from three groups of adult kidney transplant recipients from the United States, Canada and France

24 Responses

  1. […] Scientists from the Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital and the Stanford University School of Medicine have identified a pattern of gene expression shared by a small group of patients… …more […]

    • MY DAUGHTER IS ON PROGRAF,CELCEPT,PREDNISON,SHE DEVELOP DIABETES ,AND PANIC ATACKS AS A SIDE EFECTS OF THIS MEDS,WHAT CAN I DO?

  2. My husband had a liver transplant in May of 2003. he is on Prograf 6mgs a day . are you saying he can reduce his dosage and be ok. PROGRAF IS THE MOST EXPENSIVE OF THEM ALLL OVER $800 A MONTH he takes 180 a m onth.

    are their any options to prograff in the Natural herb world. or any of the traditioanl immunosupressants.

    would love to hear back from someone

    concern wife

    • I was on 0.5 prograf per day and I have been off it now for 1 month and everything seems to be ok

      • I was getting pro Graf from the va in Atlanta
        When in moved to Augusta the va did some tests (I never saw the results) they didn’t give me any anti rejection meds .i am doing great transplant date October 2001 about three years with out meds. Livin without a clue 😉

      • & Now what is going on; contact me please what u r doing & I’m having ascites; (big belly in 2 wks), some kidney cysts & symptoms similar to kidney failure; I need ur input & contacts etc.

  3. […] 2008 by Albin Paul One of the reader had posted a question about my earlier post on genetics of Transplant Organ Rejection  so this post is a part answer to her comment, I choose the title american way of life as my first […]

  4. if only my family knew about this sooner. my father died last year at the age of 56 from a liver transplant rejection. Glad to know hopefully future families won’t have to go through what my family went through. Keep up the great work.

  5. Lucy
    I am not sure if you still visit this site but i am a kidney recipiant and may be able to help you out with the prograf pills
    John

    • John
      Would be interested to hear from you. I have a good friend who’s had a liver transplant and is taking tacrolimus – are there other natural alternatives?
      Thanks, Ros

  6. I sometime wonder whether a technology is already available to live without immunosuppressed drugs but the doctors are not interested in new technolgy due to the fact that they get hefty commission from the sale of all this medicine. It seems that they are more dangerous than terrorist like Osama and playing with the lives of millions of people. Is there any wathdog to save people from doctors.Just a thought

  7. If anyone dealing with the kidney transplants still visits this site, could you post. I’m very interested in lowering or, in a perfect world, eliminating my amount of meds (not to mention their cost).

  8. […] Transplant Patients Could Live Drug Free (2007) Like this? […]

  9. Liver 10-04-2001 2 years +no pro graph

    • Jerry, how do they determine if you can go without the anti-rejection drugs? My husband is 9 months post op and only taking 1/5 (.5) mg twice a day and rapamune (1 mg ) once a day. Waiting on a call back from the clnic, they said they actually want to REDUCE them now. Is there a test or anything that can be done?

  10. I am on 10mg of prograf. I have forgot to take my meds for a week or two and went to have my blood labs taken. I got my labs back and they were better than before when I was taking my meds. I still take them but would love to live without them. I’d like to hear more from people that have been without them for atleast a year or two. Please reply or email me.

    George

  11. Why don’t they give HCG IV injection; Pregnant women don’t get cancer; & don’t reject their womb which is bigger than organ: & matches are only half the genes!!!!!
    Adult Stem Cells might might help too!!!! We don’t need to die from viruses, bacteria, using Immunosuppressants

  12. I had a liver transplant 17 years ago… I had taken meds for so long that I am tired. I am now in my late 30s… I have asked many times about the possibilities of living without meds since I have never had rejection. The drs are evasive and say is not possible. I started a few yrs ago testing my body and not taking the meds for long periods of time and fortunately everything continued fine. For the past 5 yrs I have experimented and ceased at times taking the meds for weeks and a couple of months at the time. — I have now been without taking the anti-rejection meds for over 6 months. I recently had labs done and they look perfect… I haven’t disclosed that I am not taking those, but drs know I have inquired about it many times. The med count in the labs results shows as no med found… but they didn’t say anything. I am not suggesting for ANYONE to stop taking meds… In my case I DECIDED to make this decision. I was taking very small amounts of Rapamune… To me Rapamune has to least side of effects. If you do decide on your own to stop taking meds be very cautious and at least continue having blood labs to monitor you. Again, be very careful and this is NOT by any means any advice to stop taking your meds. I am only sharing my particular experience.

    • What you are saying is very interesting, indeed. It is so temping to think that the industry really wants us to take ther drugs regardless of the high price to payin terms of quality of life, impaired ealth, etc. So if you could give the readers of this an update on your personal research from time to time, it would be highly appreciated. Also, I am wondering if you have noticed any improvment in the area of side effects since you started your search for a “simpler” and better life? I am in Norway but I am sure that the medicines regime here is the same as everywhere else (Prograph, CellCept, Prednisolone, and so on)

      • I’m asking for the match of the organ he had I had a match 3 of 4; he never replied. Everything is a big factory; calorie intake for instance please skype ahasiuk1954
        with me Swein. I have many Ideas that make sense, but it is risky.

  13. I would like more info regarding this topic.I have been taking anti rejection meds for over 6 years now.It would be great if I could live without them.

    i would like more information

Leave a Reply

