A little bit of fun- I did a PhD and did NOT go mad by Richard Butterworth from university of Middlesex.

Cartoon of person looking mad

I did a PhD and did NOT go mad

Before reading these wise words advising you how to do a PhD (inspired by three years of the author carefully and diligently banging his head on a table) you are requested to read and digest the following irony…

The only way to find out  how to do a PhD is to do one. Therefore all advice is useless.

To say that I enjoyed doing my PhD would be a lie, not just an ordinary lie mind you. More the sort of lie one would normally associate with Tory party conferences. A big wobbly lie with a dusting of sugar on top. At times I hated my PhD, so why do I have any authority to give advice on doing a PhD? Well, I don’t claim to have any — other than the fact that I completed and passed the thing, so I must have done somthing right.

Read on at http://www.cs.mdx.ac.uk/staffpages/richardb/PhDtalk.html

Leave a Reply

